Jeff Rossman, Owner & Chef of Terra Hospitality Group

By TriMark R.W. Smith

Terra Hospitality Group, Chef Owner Jess Rossman

Being involved in San Diego’s foodservice industry since 1981, Jeff Rossman has made a number of positive impacts for the city. He is a proudly self-taught Chef from Boston who truly enjoys giving back to the community along with dedicating himself to creating perfect savory dishes. His passion is widely known by many industry professionals and is demonstrated within his own restaurant, Terra.

We had the privilege of interviewing Chef Rossman to discuss his culinary journey to becoming a chef, the locally-sourced foodservice trend, the motivation that inspired him to participate in the 365 initiative, and tips on how to pair alcoholic beverages with a dish.

TriMark R.W. Smith: Please share highlights of your culinary journey that has led you to becoming a talented chef.

Chef Jeff Rossman: As a self-taught Chef, I’ve had many challenging, yet beneficial times throughout my career. I think one of the best times I’ve had was writing my first cookbook, From Terra’s Table, Chef’s Press. We spent a ton of time visiting local farms and local school gardens to get stories to share alongside my recipes. There are no San Diego Chefs that have published cookbooks, so it humbles me and makes me incredibly proud that I could’ve accomplished that. Then writing a second cookbook: WOW! BYOB – build your own burger, Georgian Bay Books.

RWS: A popular movement today is the support of community farms and incorporating locally-sourced ingredients into restaurant cuisine. What important benefits do you believe dining establishments gain by bringing this trend onto their menu?